Message to attendees of Google Apps for Education Maine Summit -forwarded from me to me

 

Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message: 

From: “EdTech Team” <auto-message@eventbrite.com>
Date: August 11, 2012 10:07:06 AM EDT
Subject: Message to attendees of Google Apps for Education Maine Summit
Reply-To: events@edtechteam.com 

 

The first annual Google Apps for Education Maine Summit is less than a week away! This event is nearly sold out and promises to be an exciting two days of learning and innovation in education!

Event Location

Yarmouth High School
286 West Elm Street
Yarmouth, ME 04096

Parking

Please note there is limited parking in front of the school, but ample parking to the rear of the main buildin gs.

Thursday AM Registration, Continental Breakfast, and Keynote,


Registration will open at 7:00 AM on Thursday morning and 7:30 on Friday morning. During this time both days we???ll also a complimentary continental breakfast available for attendees. This is a great opportunity to meet other educators, talk to our sponsors, check out a Chromebook, and even grab a bite to eat.

 

Each day will feature a morning keynote by a Googler from 8:30-9:30 AM. We???re excited that Jaime Casap, Google Senior Education Evangelist will be kicking off the event on Thursday morning. The fabulous Googler, Tina Ornduff, of Google Earth Education Outreach will open the event on Friday morning.

 

The rest of the day will be jam packed with sessions for both beginners and advanced users. The full schedule of sessions is now available online – check out the program today to map out your schedule early. Please note that we are a paperless conference so plan ahead by printing off a copy of the schedule i f needed, however, the most accurate program will be available online and you can pull it up at any moment on your smartphone, tablet or notebook.

 

http://me.gafesummit.com/program
http://me.gafesummit.com/program/sessions

Lunch

A delicious lunch will be provided to all attendees on both Thursday and Friday so plan on sticking around. You???ll have from 12:30-1:30 to eat, chat with colleagues, visit the sponsors, and plan out the sessions you???ll attend.

Demo Slam & Giveaways

Plan now to join us for a Demo Slam session from 4:30-5:30 PM on Thursday, August 16. Google Certified Teachers, Google Apps Certified Trainers, Googlers, and sponsors will be going head to head to show off some some of their favorite tools, features, and inspiring ideas for educational use.

After the demo slam we???ll also be giving away prizes from our sponsors and other Google swag, including Chromebooks!

Closing Session on Friday, August 17

Dr. Mark Wagner will deliver the closing session on Friday at 4:15 PM. Plan now to stay for an inspiring end to your two day summit experience.

Note added by me on May 2, 2013

I have gone in a deleted much of this message that I forwarded to my Posterous blog. However, it was neat that that was a feature available.

I have a nice memory of the event. I paid $200 out of pocket to attend, but it was worth it in that I got to meet Alice Barr and Cheryl Oakes, educators whom I’ve been following for years, face-t0-face. I also met Jim Moulton – a fantastic teacher and blogger from Maine with whom I had had contact through his blog posts and answers he left to my comments.
Some weeks ago I downloaded my Posterous Blog and following the directions on the Posterous site successfully transferred this blog to WordPress. I haven’t done much with it, but I’m glad to have the opportunity to catalog some events of importance to me to refer to occasionally. If others read this blog and find things of value, all the better, but I’m glad to have it for me.

Leave a Reply

