When You Thought I Wasn’t Looking…

There is a poem that I have seen attributed to Connie Black entitled When You Thought I Wasn't Looking. ??I have always wanted to re-write it from the perspective of a student and I am??honored??that Carol is giving me the chance to share it here.

When You Thought I Wasn't Looking
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw you laugh with Cindy who no one else laughs with, and I wanted to laugh too.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw you ask ??Mark who always sits in the corner to sit a little closer, and I thought it was good to be kind and include everyone.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw you give a compliment to Keisha who never receives one, and I knew that kind words make a difference.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw you pat Eddie on the back as he walked out of class, and I knew that little things are special things.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I heard you ask Billy why he was absent yesterday, and I knew that you missed us when we were not in class.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw your tear when I presented, and I felt loved.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I saw that you cared, and I wanted to be everything that I could be.
When you thought I wasn't looking, I LOOKED….and wanted to say thanks for all the things I saw when you thought I wasn't looking.

Our students are always watching us. ??They listen to our words even when we are not talking to them. ??They watch our bodies and read the signals that we send even when our lips are sealed. Their perception of how they should behave and perform is determined by perceiving our non-verbal messages. ??Our kids will leave us with deep memories from our classes. ??Years after they graduate they might remember some of the content that we taught, and they will forget what we said, ??but they will not forget how we made they feel. ??Tomorrow when you talk to your kids keep that in mind. ??What will your kids see you do? ??What will your kids hear you say? ??What did they feel when they were in your presence? ??Too often our kids' behaviors and actions in class are simply reflections of how we make them feel. ??It's the little things we do, that will make the biggest difference.

When you thought I wasn't looking, I LOOKED….and wanted to say thanks for all the things I saw when you thought I wasn't looking.

Leave a Reply

