Listening to my students!

I made a vow at the end of my Featured Teacher presentation on Classroom 2.0 on August 27,  that I was going to try and “shut up” and listen more to my students’ stories. I did just that a few minutes ago. It was the end of a tech class that the fantastic Mr. Berean, our tech ed teacher here at Amity was running, and I had a couple of minutes to chat with one of his students. I was sharing with her how I hoped that this year we’d make more connections with students in other part of the US and the world, and in passing, I asked if she had a passion – and she does. In five minutes I learned about how she and her mom are going for their license to be official bird rehabilitators, how she raises rabbits and participates in shows and has won many awards. She told me she is going to a special high school next year that has an agricultural program – and so much more. I wish I had taken notes. Anyway, I encouraged her to start a Posterous blog to share some of her wonderful accomplishments with others, and I do hope she does! I’m so psyched!

2 thoughts on “Listening to my students!

Leave a Reply

